A Writerly Update 67.

Hey Everyone,

I am not satisfied with the amount of writing I did this week. I feel like I’ve had interruption after interruption, especially the last few days, and it’s really irritating.

The last update was on Tuesday so this update is only for the past five days. Here’s what my week looked liked:

Wednesday: I got a chapter of Rift done. This was a good day, I was happy with this.

Thursday: I got a chapter of Rift done again. And I researched some more agents to query. Another good day. This is where it goes down hill.

Friday: 0 writing. My kids had a thing on at their school in the morning that I had to go to and then I had to work. I usually lead writing sprints on Twitter on Friday nights through #writeclub, but my internet died during bad weather around 5 pm (and didn’t come back on until late Saturday night. It was hard going that long without internet!) so I couldn’t do it. I decided to spend the night reading because I’m really behind on my review copies.

Saturday: I had a pretty busy day Saturday, and we went out to a friend’s house for dinner, but I did menage to get out the first draft of a short story. I needed it to have a rural setting and be no longer than 1,500 words. I’d been trying to think of a story for days and was coming up with nothing, and then the perfect idea struck me soon after I woke up on Saturday, and I sat down and wrote it in one sitting.

Sunday: 0 writing. I had a full on day. I usually work on Amberly Chronicles today but the first chance I got to write was ten pm. I was way too tired to write so I decided to do this update instead (I don’t have to think as much.) so that will be up tomorrow. I’m thinking Monday might actually work better as the regular day to post it.

If I don’t get a good writing session in tomorrow I just might go insane. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesdays are my best days to write, the days I can get hours of writing in if I don’t get interrupted. I love these days. My morning is going to be busy but I’m going to make sure I write in the afternoon for at least two hours.

On a personal note, I’ve had some bad news. My father-in-law has been diagnosed with cancer. It’s a shock and has shaken me a little. He is 68. He has been sick for a few months but refused to get the blood tests his doctor suggested he get. He left for a trip overseas on Thursday and when he landed he couldn’t walk more than five steps. He was rushed to hospital. He has to stay there until he is well enough to travel home, which will hopefully be tomorrow. But it’s going to be a hard road ahead. I’m not sure how much time they are giving him yet, but I have a feeling it isn’t good.

That’s all from me this week. How was your writing week?

Happy writing.

14 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 67.

  1. Oh, that’s so sad to hear about your father-in-law. I hope everything works out eventually.

    Have a great writing week!

  2. Oh, no! I’m so sorry to hear about your difficult and frustrating writing week, and especially sorry to hear about your father-in-law! I hope the doctors are able to help him beat his cancer and that he will be well again soon.

  3. Sorry that you had a slow/bad writing week, but congrats all the same for knocking out that short story in one sitting. I love when you go to bed with nothing but a niggling idea and somehow magic works over night (or your brain and subconscious, but whatever) and you wake up with stories or problems solved. I hope you got your writing day today in 🙂

    Sorry to hear about your father-in-law. Thinking of you and your family and sending some positive vibes your, and his, way.

    1. It was such a relief to finally get an idea for that story, I had almost given up on it!
      And thanks. We were suspecting cancer for the last few weeks, but it was still a shock to have it confirmed. I appreciate your thoughts.

  4. I love getting to those days where you are comfortable in your writing groove. If I have a school ‘thing’ on, I tend to write off the whole day, but I’m getting better at squeezing in what I can. That’s no good about your father-in-law. Take it easy and make time for the extra stress this causes. Writing can always wait until we are in the right frame of mind. 🙂
    Sent out my queries, so this was a huge week for me!.

    1. Thanks. I am trying to prepare for the extra stress, this is only the first week since we found out about the cancer and it has felt like a month! I’m already exhausted.
      Good luck with the querying. I sent my first batch out on the last day of march – 15 altogether – and am about to start round two. It’s a lot harder emotionally than I thought it would be. Some days you’ll just want to throw in the towel, but keep fighting!

      1. I started with 8 and have 2 rejections already – and holding out little hope for the other six. Setting up another 10 today. If I get no joy, I’ve been advised to look at my query again and change. Sad about that because I had it critiqued and everything 😦 Good luck! If you ever need to chat, let me know. Also hard to tell if it’s the query or if it’s because the genre isn’t an easy sell at the moment…

      2. I sent 15 queries out with the first round and have had 11 rejections so far. I did look at my query and tweaked it and am going to send out 15 more. I feel the same as you about knowing whether it is my query or the genre isn’t an easy sell. Sigh. Good luck with the rest of your queries.

Leave a Reply

