Review: Promise of Shadows by Justina Ireland.

PromiseofShadows

Release Date: January 2015.
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Australia.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Zephyr Mourning has never been very good at being a Harpy. She’d rather watch reality TV than learn forty-seven ways to kill a man, and she pretty much sucks at wielding magic. Zephyr was ready for a future pretending to be a normal human instead of a half-god assassin. But all that changes when her sister is murdered—and she uses a forbidden dark power to save herself from the same fate.

Zephyr is on the run from a punishment worse than death when an unexpected reunion with a childhood friend (a surprisingly HOT friend) changes everything. Because it seems like Zephyr might just be the Nyx, a dark goddess made flesh that is prophesied to change the power balance. For hundreds of years the half-gods have lived in fear, and Zephyr is supposed to change that.

But how is she supposed to save everyone when she can’t even save herself?

My Thoughts:

5 stars.

I loved this book. Once I started reading it I was quickly drawn in and then I devoured it. Justina provides us with a fresh twists on the Greek gods, and I loved seeing them in a modern setting. This is a dark fantasy but with a thread of humour that balanced it out perfectly.

Zephyr Mourning is a Godslayer.

The gods aren’t supposed to be able to be killed, but when one of them murders her sister, Zephyr accidentally kills one, and all the other gods and goddesses want to know how.

Zephyr is sentenced to Tartarus (hell), where her wings are stripped. She is a failed Harpy, and hadn’t been interested in killing before she had to. But soon she finds out she is destined for much greater things. She is said to be the Nyx, the saviour of her people. Dark magic pulses through her veins and it is only with that magic that she can free her people from the wicked plans of Hera.

All her life she has felt like a failure, so it was hard for her to accept she might be the saviour her people are waiting for. Although she is plagued with self doubt, she has a great support group surrounding her. The friendship between Zephyr and her best friend Cass was fantastic. Cass was willing to do anything to help Zephyr, and Zephyr stands by Cass even though others are suspicious of her because of what she is.

There is a romantic thread, which I adored. It wasn’t at the forefront but Zephyr had a lot on her plate and didn’t have a lot of time to focus on romance. And for those of you opposed to love triangles you will be happy to know that there isn’t one.

Promise of Shadows is a fantastic fantasy. Zephyr felt real to me, as did the other characters. There was plenty of action and some pretty awesome fight scenes where Zephyr unleashes her powers. I highly recommend it, especially for those of you who like fantasy that is both dark and funny.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

10 thoughts on “Review: Promise of Shadows by Justina Ireland.

  1. I’ve tried to start this one a few times, and have never been able to get into it. I think I was reading it too close after reading Percy Jackson, so it seemed a bit confusing in the beginning. I love mythology and seeing a new take on it is always refreshing. So glad to see that there’s a bit of humour infused throughout the storyline too, which is always really appreciated. So glad you enjoyed this one Rochelle, looking forward to giving it another goo very soon. Brilliant review! ❤

    1. I love fantasy that has a bit of humour in it. I enjoyed the first few chapters but it did get a lot better after that. I hope you end up liking it if you read it again.

  2. I adore things that are dark and funny. DOES THIS HAVE MY NAME ON IT? I THINK IT DOES. XDXD I’m so glad ou reviewed this because seriously I’ve never even heard of it. I’m off to goodreads ASAP now.

    1. I just love books with a thread of humour and I thought this one had a really good balance, which made me love it. I hope you enjoy it when you get around to reading it.

  3. Ooh, Fantasy that is both dark and Funny? I really like greek mythology retellings, but I read some negative reviews of this and wasn’t sure it was for me. I get the feeling it’s more of a slow burning read?
    It does sound really interesting, particularly the heroine! I’m all for someone who discovers their power after thinking they could do no right, especially if they’re a mythological creature!
    Glad you enjoyed this so much, Rochelle. Nice review. xx

    1. Thanks. I loved the Greek mythology in a modern setting. I haven’t read too many books like that (although I plan to read Percy Jackson I haven’t got around to it yet.) so I wasn’t comparing it to anything. But it really was my type of book, where there is a nice balance between dark and funny. There was also a really great friendship in it, which is always great to see.

  4. I’m glad you liked this one, Rochelle.

    I wasn’t a huge fan of it, to be honest. Eep. I just felt like there was *something* lacking that just didn’t let me latch onto the story and fall in love.

    I did like that there was a whole new aspect of mythology that I hadn’t really seen before in YA, and that there was no love triangle.

    The ending seemed a bit unfinished, and I’m really interested to see if it becomes a series. I would probably read on, if it is.

    Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

