Review: Havoc By Jane Higgins.

Havoc

Release Date: 25th February 2015
Australian Publisher: Text Publishing.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

From the author of the Text Prize-winning The Bridge.

The ceasefire is barely holding. Southside waits, with a kind of hope that feels like defeat.

Then Cityside blows up the bridge.

And amid the chaos and rubble Nik and Lanya are drawn into a complex web of power, fear and betrayal.

Who is the girl found crying out from the bombed bridge? What is her connection to the secret experiments taking place at Pitkerrin Marsh? And why does she cry ‘havoc’?

But before Nik can find out he must find his father, and face the hardest decision of his life.

My Thoughts:

5 stars.

I loved this book. Dystopian is one of my favourite YA genres and I haven’t read one in a while so it was nice to jump back into the genre, and this one was a stand out. I haven’t read The Bridge, The first book in the series, so I was a little worried going into this that I would be lost, but I wasn’t. It stood on it’s own and I don’t think it’d be 100% necessary to read the first book before reading this. But now I’ve read this I’d love to go and read The Bridge. I need more of these characters!

Once I started reading I was quickly drawn in by not only Nik and Lanya, but Higgins’ gorgeous writing. There was plenty of drama and action and twists, and Higgins goes in a direction with this novel that I haven’t encountered in other YA dystopians before, which really set it apart for me.

The bridge between Southside and Cityside is blown up in the beginning of the novel, and then all hell breaks loose. To save Southside, Nik has to go to Cityside, the place he grew up, and try and find his father and save his new home. It’s not going as easily as he hoped, not that he thought it would be easy, and Nik has to rely on old allies to help him. When Nik comes face to face with his enemy, the stakes are raised and he has to make the hardest decision of his life. I loved Nik. He felt very real to me. He had a big heart, he was loyal and genuine and honest, and everything a YA hero should be.

Havoc was an intriguing, action filled dystopian with a thread of romance through it. I felt for the characters and became quickly invested in them, and would loved to read more about them. If you are looking for a darker dystopian with a difference from the others out there, Havoc is for you. I loved it and can’t recommend it enough to lovers of this genre.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

2 thoughts on “Review: Havoc By Jane Higgins.

  1. YAY. I’m so glad you liked this book, Rochelle! I read The Bridge and then Havoc, and I must say that I would be 100% down for reading a third book. I think Higgins brought such a fresh perspective to the YA dystopian genre, and I want to see more of it.

    I think you will fall in love with the characters even MORE after you read the first book, because it explains a lot of things. But I do think that these books stand nicely as standalones, as well.

    Great review ^.^

Leave a Reply

