Writing Tip Wednesday: Open Submissions.

I realised today that I haven’t update my open submissions page since October 2014! That is crazy, and I apologise for not updating in on a more regular basis. Because it has been so long since I updated I thought I share with you some open submissions I know about as my tip for this week’s Writing Tip Wednesday.

The number one tip I can give you is to follow writingcareer.com. This guy has all the latest info on magazines to submit your stories to. You can subscribe via email and get all the latest open submissions straight into your inbox. I subscribe to it and it is one of the best things I have done.

There are a couple of agent contests coming up for those of you who have a
completed manuscript:

Pitch Wars opens on the 17th.
On The Block opens September 10th.

And if you are an Aussie writer with a complete YA or MG manuscript the Ampersand Prize opens in September.

For the short story writers:

I recommend you follow the Review Review for all your lit mag news. Plus they have a Classifieds page which is worth checking out.

It was from a link in the Review Review newsletter that I got this little gem from: Top 20 Places to Submit Flash Fiction.

Another one for Aussies: The Katherine Susannah Prichard Short Fiction Award is now open. Deadline is September 25th 2015.

And the Australian Writers’ Centre has put this list together of places to submit to in August and beyond. There are 9 links for you to check out.

That’s it for now. I hope this was helpful and that there is somewhere in the links above that you can send your work to.

Good luck everyone 🙂

And remember, you’ve got to be in it to win it!

Leave a Reply

