Review: The Catalyst by Helena Coggan.

The Catalyst

Release Date: April 2015.
Publisher: Hachette Australia/Hodder & Stoughton.
Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Imaginative, thrilling and highly readable fantasy novel from a bright young voice. Perfect for fans of the DIVERGENT series.
Rose Elmsworth has a secret. For eighteen years, the world has been divided into the magically Gifted and the non-magical Ashkind, but Rose’s identity is far more dangerous. At fifteen, she has earned herself a place alongside her father in the Department, a brutal law-enforcement organisation run by the Gifted to control the Ashkind. But now an old enemy is threatening to start a catastrophic war, and Rose faces a challenging test of her loyalties. How much does she really know about her father’s past? How far is the Department willing to go to keep the peace? And, if the time comes, will Rose choose to protect her secret, or the people she loves?

My Thoughts:

4 stars: loved it!

I love books were people have powers. If there is a book where the characters have powers I am up for reading it. When I was sent this one and read the description I was really excited and thankfully it didn’t disappoint. I was drawn straight in from the intriguing prologue where we learn how humans came to have powers and could hardly put it down from there.

Rose is a human with powers, as is her father, and both have a deep secret they will go to their grave to protect. Her father works for the Department, who keeps peace and deals out justice. He is very protective of Rose and has taught her not only how to use her powers, but how to protect herself without them. Her abilities are strong and she has been unofficially helping the Department for years.

Rose is certain of what her future holds, but not everything goes to plan and Rose faces difficult, impossible choices that will change her. While her father has to deal with an old enemy threatening to rekindle the war that destroyed so many.

I really liked Rose, and her father, and loved the strong parent-child relationship they had. Rose also had great friends, though they were very limited, who stuck by her despite the fact she was a little self obsessed. It was also great to see that even though Rose’s best friend was a boy, their relationship was platonic.

Overall The Catalyst was an intriguing, action-filled dystopian with lots of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat. I can’t wait to find out what is in store for Rose, her father, and the Department and am eagerly awaiting the second book.
It reminded me a lot of Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson, so if you are a fan of that, or books with magic but that are also grounded in reality, The Catalyst is for you. I highly recommend it.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Catalyst by Helena Coggan.

  1. I have seen this one at the bookstore but I wasn’t sure what it was about, but your review just made me add it to my TBR! I just love superhero powers and this one sounds like Heroes in a way. It sounds really realistic as well.

  2. I hadn’t heard of this one before, but my interested is certainly piqued! I love books where characters have powers, as well. Especially if they have to keep them a secret and/or go on the run (they are just tropes I always find myself enjoying, haha!).

    I love that this book has a focus on a father-daughter relationship. I think those are probably the rarest in books (authors tend to stick with father-son and mother-daughter), so YAY for that. And also friends! I love books that don’t have a huge focus on romance, especially when a female MC can have a male best friend without some kind of romantic feelings on either (or both) sides.

    I will definitely keep an eye out for this one, especially with such a gorgeous cover!

    Great review, Rochelle ^.^

Leave a Reply

