Review: Queen Of Shadows By Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows

Publisher: Bloomsbury.
Release Date: September 1st 2015.
Source: From publisher (Bloomsbury Australia.) in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. Now she returns to the empire – to confront the shadows of her past . . . The fourth breathtaking instalment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.

Bloodthirsty for revenge on the two men responsible for destroying her life, and desperate to find out if the prince and his captain are safe, Celaena returns to Rifthold, the seat of so much evil. She has accepted her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, there are dark truths to learn and debts to be paid. Aelin must stay hidden beneath her assassin’s hood and draw on her mortal strength as Celaena to prevent the King of Adarlan from tearing her world apart. Only then can she fight for her people.

Readers will be held rapt as Celaena’s story builds to an agonising crescendo, packed with heart-pounding action and swoon-worthy romance.

My Thoughts:

5 stars – mind=blown.

Wow. This book was EPIC!

Over 600 glorious pages of Maas brilliance. This is one of my favourite fantasy series ever and I can’t get enough of it, luckily there are two more books to go.

I don’t even know where to start. So many things happen in this book. Be prepared to be torn to shreds and stitched slowly, and painfully, back together. There are so many twists and turns, some you’ll love, some you might hate, but most will leave you breathless and on the edge of your seat. And just like in the other books, there is plenty of fighting, blood and violence.

Aelin has grown into the queen she was meant to be and and she makes one hell of a queen. She is back in Rifthold and she is looking for revenge. She is determined to bring back magic, and destroy the king who killed her family.

We get to know characters more deeply who we only got a glimpse at before, and we get to meet new ones. I loved the rise of other powerful females in this book. Manon came as the biggest surprise to me. I did not like her at all in HoF, but she goes through some character changes that had me actually warming to her by the end.

As a huge Chaol fan my heart almost shattered when we got to see him again. I really missed him and was so glad that he got more page time again. And my heart really twisted for Dorian. Poor, poor, Dorian. He was trapped in his own body, taken over by a demon prince and the things he had to endure.

There is so much revealed at the end and boy is it good. How the ending unfolded was just perfect. This was another brilliant edition to this amazing series.
Since I can’t read the next book, all I want to do is go back and read the other books.
If you are a fan of this series and have not read this book, drop everything and read it ASAP, but be warned, once you start you will not want to put it down so make sure you start reading it when you have plenty of time.

Absolutely fantastic.

You can add it to your Goodreads here.

6 thoughts on “Review: Queen Of Shadows By Sarah J. Maas

  1. Ahh, I LOVE the new design! Knowing me you’ve probably had it for ages, but this is the first chance I’ve had to sit down and catch up on people’s blogs. 😉 So glad you loved this one. I’ve actually read quite a few negative things about it — hence my aprehenion — but as I’m about to read this soon it’s great to read such a glowing review of it. 🙂

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’ve only had it for a month, I think.

      I’ve seen a few negative things too, which confuses me because I thought it was brilliant. If you love the rest of the series you should love this one too. It is epic, not only in plot but physical size and took me a good week to get through it. I hope you enjoy it.

  2. Ahhhh! I just had a really intense discussion about this yesterday, so my thoughts are really enlivened on the whole ToG series right now. Probably means it’s the perfect time for me to actually review QOS, because I am, you could say, behind. It’s kinda awful! But this was really incredible. Each book just adds so much. I’d say it would be my least favourite, or tied with TOG, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t like or even love it, just HoF and CoM gave me so much more and this didn’t quite meet that. There was so much to this, though. It was epic, for sure.
    xx

Leave a Reply

