Review: The White Rose By Amy Ewing.

The White Rose

Publisher: Walker Books (Australia)

Release Date: October 1st 2015.

Source: from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Synopsis:

Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion at the Palace of the Lake, Violet has no choice but to escape the Jewel or face certain death. So along with Ash and her best friend, Raven, Violet runs away from her unbearable life of servitude.

But no one said leaving the Jewel would be easy. As they make their way through the circles of the Lone City, Regimentals track their every move, and the trio barely manages to make it out unscathed and into the safe haven they were promised—a mysterious house in the Farm.

But there’s a rebellion brewing, and Violet has found herself in the middle of it. Alongside a new ally, Violet discovers her Auguries are much more powerful than she ever imagined. But is she strong enough to rise up against the Jewel and everything she has ever known?

The White Rose is a raw, captivating sequel to The Jewel that fans won’t be able to put down until the final shocking moments.

My Thoughts:

4 stars.

After the harrowing events in the final chapters of The Jewel, I was eager to read The White Rose. I really enjoyed The Jewel and the second installment in the trilogy did not disappoint. I was quickly pulled back into Violet’s world and held captivated by the many twists and turns in this book, some which I was never even expecting.

With the help of a secret society, Violet and Ash have been rescued, as well as Violet’s best friend, Raven, and moved to a secret location. It is here Violet discovers just who she really is, and just how powerful her abilities are. She is determined to bring down the royalty, and set free all who have been oppressed and she isn’t the only one. We finally find out more about the history of the Island and the abilities of the girls who are turned into surrogates. We also got to see more of Raven in this book , and she has become a favourite character of mine. Raven and Violet had an unshakable bond and I loved their strong friendship.

I thoroughly enjoyed The White Rose. It was a compelling installment that won’t disappoint fans. And after that jaw dropping ending I am dying to get my hands on book 3, it certainly holds a lot of promise and I can’t wait to see how it all ends.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The White Rose By Amy Ewing.

  1. *hangs head in shame* I’m so embarrassed that I haven’t started this series yet. I have The Jewel on my shelf waiting but I just haven’t forced myself to pick it up. I’ve heard from my best friend that this series really is a jewel (hehe, get the pun?). Yep, I’m going to need to get on this bandwagon soon ’cause of your review.

    1. No need to be embarrassed. There are heaps of books I haven’t got around to read yet that have been out for a while. The good thing about starting a series late, is that you don’t have to wait around for the next book if you loved the first one. The Jewel had a lot of mixed reception but I really liked it. Hope you enjoy reading it 🙂

Leave a Reply

