The Australian Women Writers Challenge 2016 #aww2016

aww 2016

 

I love supporting Australian authors, and one way I do that is by joining the Australian Women Writers Challenge, which I have done every year since it started and I will continue to do this year. I’m a little late starting this year, but better late than never, right?

Here’s a little bit about the challenge from the AWW Challenge website:

“The Australian Women Writers Challenge was set up to help overcome gender bias in the reviewing of books by Australian women. The challenge encourages avid readers and book bloggers, male and female, living in or outside Australia, to read and review books by Australian women throughout the year. You don’t have to be a writer to sign up. You can choose to read and review, or read only.

The challenge will run from Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2016. You can sign up throughout the year till the end of November.”

There are 4 levels to choose from:

  • Stella: read 4 – if reviewing, review at least 3
  • Miles: read 6 – if reviewing, review at least 4
  • Franklin: read 10 – if reviewing, review at least 6
  • Create your own challenge: nominate your own goal

This year, as I have done in previous years, I will be creating my own challenge. I am challenging myself to read   40 books by Australian women. And I’ll hopefully review that many as well. (Last year I challenged myself to read 40, which I did, but I could only review 30 of them.)

 

I read pretty widely, but you can expect reviews for YA, rural romance and fantasy.

If you are interested in joining the challenge and supporting the many wonderful women writers we have here in Australia, you can find out more at the challenge website.

 

Leave a Reply

