Review: Glass Sword By Victoria Aveyard +GIVEAWAY!!!

Glass Sword

Release Date: March 2016.

Publisher: Orion (Hachette)

Source: Purchased.

Synopsis:

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

My Thoughts:

5 amazing stars!!!

Oh my gosh!
Wow!
What did I just read?
This sequel to Red Queen was breathtaking and brilliant!
So much happened over the course of this book and I loved every heart pounding moment as I dangled the whole time on the edge of my seat.
So many cool abilities were uncovered as Mare, Cal, and her friends try to outrun Maven and gather together Reds who have Silver abilities.
Cal has moved firmly into my heart and I want him to end up with Mare desperately!
I loved Cal in Red Queen, but my soft spot for Maven had me wanting him and Mare to end up together, but after that CRAZY ending, that ship has sunk!
Poor Mare!

OK, I can’t not talk about that fairly big twist so if you don’t want to know don’t read the next bit:

START OF SPOILER:
So Queen Elara is you know what, right. Well, I have my doubts, even with the proof. I mean, she was experimenting on the special Reds, she could have made one of them look like her and stay her somehow in the event of a battle? I just can’t believe she is really you know what. I mean, it would be awesome if she was you know what, but as we know with these books ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN!
END OF SPOILER!

Glass Sword was EPIC! A solid sequel to Red Queen. It left me desperate for book 3 and the novellas which have recently be released together as ‘Cruel Crown.’
I can’t wait to see how all this is going to end.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.
AND NOW FOR MY GIVEAWAY:
I have ONE copy of CRUEL CROWN to give to a lucky follower! 
cruel crown

GIVEAWAY IS INTERNATIONAL!

*Must be 13 years and over to enter.

*Must be willing to provide me with your address.

*I am not responsible for lost mail.

*Cheaters will be disqualified.

*Giveaway opens midnight tonight Sydney time, and ends April 20th at midnight.

GOOD LUCK!

 

ENTER HERE!

 

15 thoughts on “Review: Glass Sword By Victoria Aveyard +GIVEAWAY!!!

  1. I do so love the covers for this series! XD YES. I am an unashamed cover-lover. heheh. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much! 😀

  2. Yeah! I am so glad you enjoyed this so much and found it to be a worthy sequel. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

  3. I must admit, I had a few issues with Glass Sword being a bit of the repetitive side, but the series is so utterly epic that it still didn’t put me off needing to read the next installment. I did enjoy the quieter pace though, I think book one was so action packed and furious that it needed that character development to slow the pace down a little. It needed more Maven though. I love a villain! Great review Rochelle and so glad you loved this one ❤

    1. I was happy with the amount of Maven in it. After that ending, I’m not looking forward to reading more Maven, he was so cruel! But I can’t wait to see what happens.

  4. I finished this book last month and am just about to review it! It was a fantastic sequel and I’m itching for book 3 now! In regards to Queen Elara…hmmm..I actually never thought about it like that!! I really hope not D:

  5. I honestly didn’t really like The Red Queen so I decided not to continue the series. Your review is making me doubt that decision. Haha. I hope the series does get better because I found the first one too predictable and cliche. Maybe I’ll keep reading now because of you. Thanks Rochelle!!!

    1. If you do decide to read it, I hope you enjoy Glass Sword, much better than Red Queen. I have read a couple of series where the first book was ok, and It took book 2 or 3 for me to really fall in love with it.

Leave a Reply

