The Anxiety Book By Elisa Black: Review And Interview.#aww2016

The Anxiety Book

 

Release Date: 31st May 2016.

Publisher: Hachette Australia. 

Source: From publisher in exchange for honest review. 

Challenge: Australian Women Writers Challenge. 

REVIEW:

If you suffer Anxiety you will want to read this book.
If you know and love someone with Anxiety you will want to read this book.

The Anxiety Book is an open and honest tale of anxiety. Elisa Black does not hold back. If you have anxiety you will be able to relate to not only Elisa’s story, but the story of other suffers dispersed throughout the book, giving the reader a smorgasbord of stories to relate to. Elisa is a talented writer, pulling you in with her words and holding you captive. Not only does she share her battle, but she gives some great tips to help with your own battle, giving an insiders view that you just don’t get from a guide written by a doctor.

The Anxiety Book is an engaging memoir and I smiled so many times throughout it – even in moments that weren’t humorous – because I knew exactly what Elisa was going through. As a fellow suffer of anxiety, I know how alone you can feel in your battle, but as you read this book you will realise how NOT alone you really are.

The Anxiety Book is a must read! I highly recommend it to everyone.

INTERVIEW:

I am excited to have been able to ask Elisa some questions about her wonderful book!

  1.  For those who haven’t yet read The Anxiety Book, tell us a bit about yourself. I’m a print journalist from Adelaide, a mother of two, have had anxiety in some form or another since I was a very small child, and have tried just about every bloody thing to get rid of it.

 

  1. What inspired you to share your story? I wrote an article about my anxiety for The Advertiser last year and when it was published online it went viral. It showed me how many of us out there are battling away and how desperate for real information and stories of other sufferers people are.

 

  1. What is the main thing you’d like readers to get out of reading your book? – There are two – to realise they are not alone and that there are plenty of things to try that might alleviate their anxiety. Anxiety can be caused by lots of different things and by more than one thing in any individual. It may take more than one technique or therapy to make you feel better.

 

  1. Do you have a mantra that you live by to help you through it all? Not really, but I do have a terrible stubborn streak that pushes me through.

 

  1. In The Anxiety Book, you share how one of your sons suffer from anxiety. How do you deal with your own anxiety, as well as that of your son? Do you have advice for mothers in the same situation? – Seeing my young son battle anxiety is harder than dealing with my own and I feel a combination of guilt (that he has inherited it from me) and frustration that I can’t just snap my fingers and free him from his. But, the positive is that, because I have discovered ways to help myself, I can help him learn ways to overcome his. I think one of the most important things parents can do is to listen to the fears of their kids and not dismiss them or blindly say, “don’t worry”. Better to teach them strategies to deal with anxiety and build resilience that will help them into adulthood.

 

  1. What is the top advice you would give to those suffering from anxiety? Never give up, never think that it is your lot in life to feel terrible. There is always hope and today could be the day you find something that works for you.

 

  1. What advice would you give to partners or loved ones of people suffering from anxiety? It can be incredibly frustrating and exhausting to live with someone who has anxiety. You might have to pick up the slack at home when your partner is too anxious to do the things that need to be done, or you might have to answer the same questions over and over and over as they try to find some reassurance that everything is ok. If your loved one is too anxious to seek help, you can help them take the first steps by contacting a doctor on their behalf. Know that they aren’t being difficult on purpose, they wish they were free of anxiety as much as you do. And make sure you take care of yourself too.

 

  1. Is there one thing that anxiety stopped you from doing in the past that you wished it hadn’t? – I have generally tried to soldier on no matter how bad my anxiety has been. But I would say that, while anxiety hasn’t stopped me doing things, it has often stopped me from being able to be in the moment and enjoy myself.

 

  1. In The Anxiety Book, you talk a bit about your teen life. If you could go back and give teen Elisa a piece of advice, what would it be? Hmm, maybe that high school is an almost universally vile experience and in no way reflects real life…

 

  1. You touch on many experiences in your life in The Anxiety Book, do you intended on extending some of those experiences, such as anxiety and motherhood, and writing another book? (Because I would love to read it if you did.) – Maybe. I can only assume that as my boys get older (and I become more ancient and decrepit…) there will be new challenges and cause for anxiety – both mine and theirs. I’ve heard (from a gazillion people) that parenting teenage boys is not the most relaxing thing ever. (And thank you!)

 

And just for the fun if it:

What’s the latest book you read? I just reread Justin Cronin’s The Passage in anticipation of the release of his latest, The City of Mirrors.

 Who is your favourite Australian author? There are two – Helen Garner and Geraldine Brooks

 What is a song that is guaranteed to get you up and dancing? I have terrible music taste. Anything I can drunkenly cry-dance-sing to is great by me.

What is your go-to dessert? I’m not a sweet person (figuratively or literally…) but give me a plate of cheese and I am a happy woman.

Thank you so much for answering all my questions, I really appreciate it! – You’re very welcome xx

Look for The Anxiety Book from your favourite bookstore:

The Anxiety Book: A true story of phobias, flashbacks and freak-outs, andhow I got my inner calm back by Elisa Black ($32.99), published by Hachette Australia.

2 thoughts on “The Anxiety Book By Elisa Black: Review And Interview.#aww2016

Leave a Reply

