Aussie YA Blog Hop -My Thoughts On The Best Aussie YA Out There #LoveOzYa

Aussie YA Blog Hop Banner

 

I am so excited because this week the Aussie YA bloggers Group are participating in an awesome blog hop, sharing all the Aussie YA books they love and would recommend, and it all concludes with a Twitter chat on Sunday 14 August at 6pm on #AusYABlogChat and @AusYABloggers!

We have some amazing authors in Australia and below I will share a glimpse of my favs with you. Be sure to check them out. I have provided links to Booktopia for my Aussie readers, and Book Depository for my international readers (if available.)

1) What do you love about Aussie YA?

What is NOT to love about Aussie YA? It’s just nice to read the familiar sometimes. I love international reads, but it’s nice to read familiar places and familiar language style; it’s easier to connect to something you know.

And we have some very talented writers writing genre fiction that even without an Australian setting, has that Aussie touch. And our genre stories tend to put a different spin on things and different is good.

2) Favourite Aussie YA Authors?

Oh man. All of them? Hahaha.

There is so much awesomeness. Melina Marchetta, Amie Kaufman, Jaclyn Moriarty, Marianne Curly, Jay Kristoff, Rebecca James, Paula Weston, Rebekah Turner, Allyse Near, Trinity Doyle, Jessica Shirvington…just to name a few.

3) The Aussie YA Book You Grew Up With?

I didn’t read a lot as a child or as a teen. I did read, but nowhere near to the extent once I left school. The only Aussie YA I read was at school. In high school I read Tomorrow When The War Began, which I enjoyed, and Looking For Alibrandi, which I also enjoyed.I don’t think there was as much Aussie YA when I was in high school as there is today. Now I try and READ IT ALL!!!

4)Favourite YA Book Released In 2016?

There have been so many released this year that I haven’t gotten around to reading yet, but I did read Threader By Rebekah Turner and loved it! Everyone should go read it!

threader

Buy it from Booktopia (or your local bookstore!)

5)Aussie YA Debut You Are Looking Forward To?

Frayed by Kara Terzis, one of our very own book bloggers! I can’t wait to read it!

frayed

You can buy it from Booktopia or Book depository.

6)Favourite Aussie YA Series?

OK there is no way I can just name one so I will give you 4:

The Lumatere Chronicles, starting with Finnikin Of The Rock by Melina Marchetta.

Finnikin

which you can buy from Booktopia or Book depository. 

The Rephaim Series, starting with Shadows by Paula Weston.

shadowsUK

Which you can buy from Booktopia or Book Depository.

The Illuminae Files, starting with Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Koffman.

Illuminae

Which you buy from Booktopia or Book Depository.

The Tribe Series starting with The Interrogation Of Ashala Wolf By Ambelin Kwaymullina.

AshalaWolf

Which you can buy from Booktopia or Book Depository.

7)Unexpected Aussie YA Surprise?

How To Keep A Boy From Kissing You by Tara Eglington. It was Incredibly well written and extremely funny.

xhow-to-keep-a-boy-from-kissing-you.jpg.pagespeed.ic.pUSqHp05Iu

Which you  can buy from Booktopia or Book Depository.

8) Aussie YA Book You Always Recommend To Others?

The Lumatere Chronicles. Best Fantasy series ever (actually lets just say all the book series I mentioned above.)

9)An Aussie Book On Your TBR?

Nevernight!!! Everyone is reading this and I want to be reading it too 😦

nevernight

Which you can buy from Booktopia and Book Depository.

10)Recommend Your Favourite Aussie YA Bloggers.

All of them, seriously, follow the linky on Happy Indulgence to discover some awesome blogs!

But to name a few individually:

Jeann from Happy Indulgence.

Jess from The Never Ending Book Shelf.

Kelly from Diva Booknerd.

Emily from Loony literate.

Kara from Diary Of A Teen Writer.

Faith from Fangirl World. 

Cait from Paper Fury.

 

There are so many great Aussie books out there, I have only mentioned a few. I love Aussie YA and highly recommend you check them out. There’s something for every ones tastes.

Happy hopping! (Go on click that link above!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

