The Spark Novellas: Bite-Sized Stories To Give You That Spark Fix When It’s All Over.

Sorry for the long title.

Sorry this is a lot later than I intended, life got in the way, but I’m finally reviewing the last of the Spark stories to wrap up my spotlight on Rachael Craw.

You can see my review of book one ‘Spark’ HERE.

Book two ‘Stray’ HERE

And book three ‘Shield’ HERE.

This is an amazing series and well worth the read.

Once I finished the series I was desperate for more. Luckily for me there are 3 short stories available, and you can get them for FREE. Below is the synopsis for each one and then I share my thoughts on each. All are brief because the stories are brief.

kill-swwitch
 In Kill Switch:

Tommy’s sick. Really sick. Pins and needles, buzzing spine, seizures and vomiting. And it’s all because of that guy in the diner. Just one touch. That’s all it took. Now there’s only one thing on Tommy’s mind: Kill. Kill. Kill.

Kill Switch is a heart-racing prequel to the award-winning young adult science fiction Spark series by New Zealand author Rachael Craw. Jump straight into the action with Spark (Book 1), Stray (Book 2)and Shield (Book 3), or discover more about the sinister Affinity Project in the short story Black Room.

Download Kill Switch from Amazon Australia.

 

black-room

In Black Room:

Ethan Tesla is afraid. The sinister Affinity Project has him bound, drugged. Untethered and separated from his Spark. Affinity wants something from Ethan. And it’s only a matter of time before he gives it to them.

Black Room is a thrilling prequel to the award-winning young adult science fiction Spark series by New Zealand author Rachael Craw. Jump straight into the action with Spark (Book 1), Stray (Book 2) andShield (Book 3), or enter the mind of a Stray in the short story Kill Switch.

Download Black Room from Amazon Australia.

scar-tissue

In Scar Tissue:

Jamie Gallagher is obsessed. He can’t stop thinking about his friend Phillip. And then there’s the nausea, pins and needles and violent nightmares. Is he going mad? Overriding it all is the crazy need to protect Phillip. But from what? Scar Tissue is a gripping prequel to the award-winning young adult science fiction Spark series by New Zealand author Rachael Craw. Jump straight into the action with Spark (Book 1), Stray (Book 2) and Shield (Book 3). Discover more about the sinister Affinity Project in the short story Black Room or enter the mind of a Stray in Kill Switch.

Download Scar Tissue from Amazon Australia.

 

My Thoughts:

Bite-Sized is the right word for these because they are so short. Each one left me wanting more. I read all of these when the series ended and I thought that was the perfect time to read them, they don’t give anything in the series away, they are all set before it, but I think it just gives the stories a deeper meaning, especially Black Room.

Rachael is a fantastic writer and her writing shines just as bright in these short stories as they do in her longer novels. Kill Switch was actually the most devastating to read. I found myself really connecting with the character and it was really fascinating to see into the mind of the supposed enemy. I felt really sad for Tommy, because if you have read the series you will know how it is going to end, and you’ll be wishing it could end differently. At least that’s how I felt.

Black Room pulled me in and I didn’t want to stop reading. I was so caught up that when the story ended I was surprised and trying to click through to the next pages but there weren’t any. Ethan’s story was fascinating and I’d love to read more about him and his past.

Scar Tissue is the story of Jamie’s first Spark and is perfect for anyone looking to read more about Jamie – which I’m sure a lot of you are. It’s tragic and my heart goes out to Jamie.

All in all, I highly recommend these 3 short stories to fans of the series. If you are sad because the series has ended, these are perfect to help you stay in the Spark world that little bit longer.

 

About Rachael Craw:

rachael-craw
RACHAEL CRAW studied Classical Studies and Drama at the University of Canterbury but became an English teacher after graduation. Working with teenagers has given her a natural bent towards Young Adult fiction and a desire to present a feisty female protagonist in her writing. Rachael was born and raised in Christchurch, New Zealand, and currently lives in Nelson with her family. Spark is her debut novel.

Check out her website. Follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

