Goals for 2017.

2017-goals-640x3543

 

2016 was a horrible year for me. I was battling depression and crippling anxiety and it is a year I am glad to put behind me. By the end of 2016 I decided I had had enough with all the crap going on in my life, so I cut the crap and made some positive changes. Life is too short and I am going to enjoy it.

2017 is going to be a much better year. I am already so much more relaxed – which is my new year resolution so I’m off to a good start – and it feels good.

In 2016 I wrote less, read less and blogged a whole lot less. I’m already reading and writing more so now I just have to get back to blogging more.

Writing wise the first thing I’m going to do is enter The Text Prize and if I don’t win I am going to jump back into querying.

Reading wise my goal is to read 125 books this year. I am already 6 books ahead. I have been reading like crazy during the school holidays because I will have less time once the kids go back to school (I am home schooling my son this year!)

This year is the year of the sequel for me. I have so many series on my shelves that I have started that I haven’t finished, so I want to finish those.

And of course I will be joining The Australian Women Writers Challenge again this year. I love to support Australian women writers. I’ll have a post on this soon.

Blog wise I am going to try to blog once a week at least, mostly reviews. I would like to do more but the reality at the moment is that one post a week is more realistic. If I aim for more I will probably get overwhelmed, avoid blogging and therefore blog less.

And I want to get back to hosting giveaways (I’ll have my first on Australia Day!)

So those are my goals for 2017.

What are some of your goals for this year?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Goals for 2017.

  1. Hey Rochelle,
    2016 was a bad year for me too, and I’m so glad we can both put it behind us! Congrats on being back on the right track with your reading and writing already; that’s awesome news and I look forward to reading your posts through out the year and hopefully we will be able to catch up sometime soon and chat books and writing (and all the fun stuff).

    Good luck with the home schooling. I wouldn’t even know where to start there.

    I also have no doubt that you won’t smash your 125 book goal. Here’s to a fantastic 2017 with bright new beginnings and a whole lot of promise. I hope you smash all your goals and I wish you the very best with all the writing comps you enter and query’s you do this year. 2017 is going to be your year. I can feel it.

    1. It seems like 2016 wasn’t a good year for a lot of people. Here’s hoping 2017 is better for both of us. Home schooling is kind of a last resort. My son just can’t deal with school. I was super nervous at first but now I’m really excited and relieved to not be having to deal with schools as this was one of my major stresses last year.
      Thanks heaps for the encouragement. We’ll definitely have to catch up soon it feels like it has been ages.

  2. I’m so sorry that 2016 was awful for you, and I really hope that 2017 is so much better ❤

    I wish you all the luck with your entry into the Text Prize! It would be awesome to know a winner 😀

    Same as you, I really want to finish up some series. I've already started to do that a little bit and it feels so good to move a book from "series to finish" to "series I've finished. I'm reading way too many and it's just too stressful.

    I also want to write more! Last year was mostly editing, but I want to create more new things, and hopefully finish the WIP I started about a year ago.

    I hope 2017 is amazing for you!

    1. Thanks, Chiara. There are way too many series and it makes it so easy to fall behind. I love reading series but when I look at how many I have to finish I wish that authors would stop making them for a while – even though I write series myself!
      Good luck with the WIP, hope you get lots of writing done this year.

Leave a Reply

