Blog Tour: Corpselight by Angela Slatter #aww2017

blogtourcorpselight-768x384

Today I am delighted to have Angela on the blog to answer some of my questions as part of the Corpselight blogtour! Let’s jump right in! (Be sure to check out my review after the interview.)

Hi Angela, thank you for joining me on my blog. I love the Verity Fassbinder series and am a huge fan!

Thank you so much for having me over, Rochelle!

Q1: For those who haven’t read the series yet, can you give a brief description of what the Verity Fassbinder series is about?

Verity is basically someone who’s got one Weyrd parent, one Normal parent and as such she can walk between the two worlds and help keep the peace. That means she keeps the Normals safe from being eaten by rogue Weyrd, and the Weyrd world from being exposed to people who might reach for their torches and pitchforks. It’s set in Brisbane, there are angels and sirens, garbage golems, undines, mages and witches and all kinds of were-creatures on the streets. Plus there’s always a crime story or two woven in with the urban fantasy.

Q2:Where did the idea for the Verity Fassbinder series come from?

I did a six week course in 2009, Clarion South, in Brisbane. It was one of those hot, sticky summers when you’re about two seconds away from turning feral. I was looking for a story to turn in the next day, listening to Powderfinger, and all of a sudden I had this voice in my head. A smart alec kind of noir voice narrating the city and revealing a strangeness as she went; that was Verity.

Q3:Verity is a strong-willed, kick-butt heroine. Do you see yourself in her or is there another character you feel is more like you?

Hahaha! Well, we certainly share a strong will, potty mouth and the same Doc Martens, but I don’t know if it goes much beyond that. I think every character needs to have a trace of me in them so I can write them convincingly. I do love Rhonda McIntyre and Ziggi Hassman, but don’t know if they’re really my soulmates!

Q4: You have written Vigil and Corpselight in the series so far, how many more books are planned in the series?

At this stage there is just a three book contract. I’ve just finished writing Restoration, the third book. Whether there are any more depends entirely, and sadly, on how well the series does. Unfortunately that’s just one of the realities of modern day publishing.

I do have three other books half-plotted out, should they be required, but the only certainties in life are death and taxes!

Q5: There are many writers who read the blog, could you tell us a bit about your publication journey so far?

Well, I’ve always written since I was a kid, but I only decided about thirteen years ago that I wanted to try to do it seriously. I did a Graduate Diploma in Creative Writing to start off, then a Masters (Research) and then a PhD. I started publishing short stories during my Masters and built my reputation on short stories. The switch to novels is a more recent thing (the Verity Fassbinder series was sold to Jo Fletcher Books in 2015, I think). I’ve published about 150 short stories, eight collections (two co-written with Lisa L. Hannett), two novellas, now two novels. I’ve got another two collections in the works, and another novel called The Briar Book of the Dead that I’m working on.

Q6: Do you consider yourself a plotter or panster, or a mix of both?

I’m a mix of both. I like to have an overall structure for things that’s not too tight or inflexible, and with that structure there’s a kind of purposeful whirlwind of chaos, which eventually settles down. It’s a bit like watching fairy floss be made: sudden goodness from sugar and air and nothing! Magic.

Q7: Can you share a bit about your writing process? Do you like to write everyday? At a certain time etc…?

I prefer to write something every day, but it’s not a rule for me. It works for some writers, but I also know I need time to rest and refill the well. For example, yesterday I finished Restoration so today I am answering interview questions, reading contracts, hunting for a new agent, working on some synopses, but not doing any “creative” writing. Tomorrow I’ll start a new non-fiction project that will require me to watch vampire movies; it’s awesome that’s my day job!

Q8: What would your top advice to aspiring authors be?

My standard advice is:

  • Keep writing.
  • Learn your craft and never, ever think you know it all.
  • Develop a thick skin, but realise that story criticism is aimed at making the story better, not at making you feel bad about yourself. Find people whose opinions you respect and trust.
  • Remember: it’s always better to have someone find problems with a story before you send it out into the world.
  • Networking is about building mutually beneficial relationships with other writers and publishers, not just about you getting what you can.

Don’t send Facebook friend requests to other writers and then ask them to like your page and buy your book: (a) it’s just rude, and (b) other writers are not generally your audience. That’s my personal bugbear!

Q9: Where can people find out more about you online?

Website: http://www.angelaslatter.com/

Blog: http://www.angelaslatter.com/blog/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/angelaslatterauthor
Twitter: @AngelaSlatter

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005QQ9FOA

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2847546.Angela_Slatter

 

And just for fun…

 

Q10: What is the last book you read?

Ah, Monica Byrne’s The Girl in the Road; currently I’m reading City of Thieves by David Benioff. I have five or six reading books on the go at one time.

Q11: Do you prefer to drink tea, coffee or something different all together?

Coffee, black coffee. Always black coffee.

Q12: What is the one must read book you’d read if you found out the world was ending tomorrow?

Argh! So mean. I would probably re-read Tanith Lee’s Night’s Master.

 

Thank you for answering my questions!

You’re more than welcome! 🙂

 

And now here are my thoughts on Corpselight:

corpselight

Release Date: July 13th 2017.

Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books. (Hachette Australia.)

Source: From publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity’s all about protecting her city, but right now that’s mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council – after all, it’s hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you’re really, reallypregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for ‘Unusual Happenstance’. That’s not usually a clause Normals use – it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing – but Susan Beckett’s claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she’s still insisting she doesn’t need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.

V’s first lead takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it’s clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful . . .

Corpselight is the sequel to Vigil and the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.

 

 

My Thoughts:

#As this is book 2 in series, this review will contain some spoilers for book 1.

 

I fell in love with Verity in Vigil, book one of this series, and couldn’t wait to jump back into her Weyrd world. I was not disappointed. I enjoyed this even more than book one, earning it a full 5 stars!

Verity is back in all her glory. She is a strong, smart, and fearless female character who is big of mouth and quick of wit. She will do whatever is takes to protect the ones she loves, including the bundle of joy growing inside of her.

Verity might be heavily pregnant but there is no rest for the wicked, and the Weryd won’t stop causing havoc just so Verity can rest. Verity is called to investigate an unusual insurance claim, but like many Weryd investigations, there seems to be a lot more to the story than Verity is led to believe.

With Kitsune assassins after her, someone from her past coming back to haunt her, and Corpselights floating around in her back yard, Verity certainly has her hands full. Not to mention a newborn. I loved seeing such a strong heroine having a baby, and watching her as she tried to juggle being a mother and doing her job. I was just screaming to let the poor woman have a rest! David was even more lovable in this book. He is a great father and a great support for Verity. They are a great little family.

You will be intrigued by the mystery, kept on the edge of your seat by the plot twists and be clutching your chest at the heart wrenching ending that will leave you wanting to read book 3 immediately.

This is a stand out urban fantasy. I love that it is set in Brisbane, and the world is so vividly imagined that you are certain this hidden underbelly is actually real. Angela Slatter is a fantastic writer and I can’t recommend this series enough.

You can add it to your Goodreads HERE.

Leave a Reply

