A Writerly Update 23.

Hi Everyone, welcome to this week’s writerly update.

I have mainly been concentrating on my YA epic Fantasy as this is the one I have decided I am going to send out on submission when it is ready. YA author Susan Dennard just sold her YA epic fantasy to Tor & Tor UK which I figure is good news for me as it shows editors are looking for it.
I’m currently having it critique which is both nerve-wracking and exciting. It is amazing that you can read something a million times and not pick up on something but a second set of eyes will pick it up straight away 🙂 Which is why writers should really have critique partners.

I also got back to two projects I haven’t worked on in forever, and boy did it feel good to get back to them.

The first was my fairy tale retelling. As I said, I haven’t looked at it in ages, and the exciting thing is that I came up with a sub-plot that I am really excited about.

Secondly, I finally got back to The Girl In The Mirror. This is the story that I am writing just for me, no pressure. I’m the kind of person that needs to put deadlines on themselves to get things done, otherwise I would procrastinate forever, but when I started writing The Girl In The Mirror I promised myself I’ll write it for fun, no deadlines, take as long as it takes and just enjoy writing it. And I am. I love this story so much. I just passed 20,000 words on the first draft.
I hope one day I can share this story with you all because it is one of my favorites.

That’s all from me this week. How was your writing week? I’d love to hear from you.

Happy Writing 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Writerly Update 23.

  1. Getting your writing critiqued is indeed very nerve-wracking and exciting. It’s awesome to have people to help though.

    I love writing a novel for fun or just for me, as you said it. Most times, those turn out best. Have fun with it! 🙂

    1. Thanks, I am having lots of fun with Girl In The Mirror at the moment.
      And it is awesome having a critique partner – all writers should have them.
      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

