Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Between the Lives’ by Jessica Shirvington. AWW13

Welcome to this week’s Spotlight Sunday, where I shine the light on an Australian book I think deserves to be read. Today I am shining the spotlight on Jessica Shrivington’s YA novel, ‘Between the Lives.’ It is the eleventh book I have read for the Australian Women Writers Challenge.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Above all else, though I try not to think about it, I know which life I prefer. And every night when I Cinderella myself from one life to the next a very small, but definite, piece of me dies. The hardest part is that nothing about my situation has ever changed. There is no loophole.

Until now, that is…

For as long as she can remember, Sabine has lived two lives. Every 24 hours she Shifts to her ′other′ life – a life where she is exactly the same, but absolutely everything else is different: different family, different friends, different social expectations. In one life she has a sister, in the other she does not. In one life she′s a straight-A student with the perfect boyfriend, in the other she′s considered a reckless delinquent. Nothing about her situation has ever changed, until the day when she discovers a glitch: the arm she breaks in one life is perfectly fine in the other.

With this new knowledge, Sabine begins a series of increasingly risky experiments which bring her dangerously close to the life she′s always wanted… But just what – and who – is she really risking?

My Thoughts:

5 out of 5.

Guys, when this gets released overseas you will want to pick it up. Between the Lives was breathtaking, brilliant and compelling, Jessica Shirvington is proving quiet a talent indeed. I loved her Embrace series and I loved this too. I knew I would love this as soon as I heard about it, and it delivered.

I don’t want to talk about the plot, to tell you more than the synopsis above so you can discover all the wonderfulness for yourself. I will tell you that Between the Lives unravels at a break neck pace and that you won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough. There are heaps of twist and turns, many of them leaving me gobsmacked. My heart broke for Sabine and everything she had to go through. Warning: This book will toy with all of your emotions. Shirvington ripped out my heart, had me sobbing and left me feeling emotionally wrecked by the end. Oh but it was worth it.

There are many great, well-rounded characters in this book but one of my favourites was Ethan. Ethan, Ethan, Ethan. I loved him! Everybody loves a bad boy, but Ethan was good, oh so good, and proves that the good boys are just as lovable as the bad.

This is a stand alone, but I would definitely read a sequel, I want more, more, more! This is one book you should go and read now!It truly is a stand out.

You can add it to your Goodreads here

3 thoughts on “Spotlight Sunday: Review ‘Between the Lives’ by Jessica Shirvington. AWW13

  1. I am hands-down, absolutely, irrevocably in love with this book (yes I went there!) It’s so amazing, it almost defies words. I love that you also loved it!

    And Ethan, Ethan, Ethan. ❤

    Wonderful review 😀

Leave a Reply

